Word of Mouth

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Gigging

Last night I went to a gig called WordOfMouth which was a poetry rehearsal night at Favela Chic in Shoreditch. It’s the first time I’ve been to such a thing and was expecting some good things.

I was suitably impressed. The host was a guy called Curious who kicked off the show with a bit of beat boxing and the n introduced the first poet of the night – AngrySam. He did half a dozen or so poems, taking us on a journey through relationships, from getting together to the breakup to the ex (You’re A Bastard). Then there was AnnaLe who had her own funky, unique twist on everyday things.

What I particularly like about going to this sort of thing is seeing people finding a way to express themselves; to be creative and then have the balls to get up and show what they’ve created to a bunch of strangers. And some of it was really good too!

Obviously, writing lyrics and writing poetry have a lot in common but I don’t think they’re the same. The main difference being that with poetry, you’re not constrained to the beat and have more freedom to mess around with the cadence and the tempo of your words. Lyrics are obviously more rhythmic, but that has it’s pros too. When I’m writing a flow, I love messing around with the rhythm of the words. Going on the beat, then off the beat and then back onto it again, like on My Love and Mea Culpa.

I’m going to keep an eye out for Word of Mouth and other poetry readings. Last night gave me a taste and I’d quite like to go again.

Comments

Leave a Reply

