Out of the box of my own mindset

Posted: April 19, 2011 in Random Noise

I was working a night shift last night so I caught the bus back home at 08:30 this morning.

As often happens to me after a night shift, I started to feel really quite philosophical about things and I have to say that sitting and watching people go about their business at that time in the morning, you really get a feel of how the city runs. The workmen in their overalls, the office workers clutching their morning coffee, the city types in their sharp suits – this is what we do. This is who we are and it’s people like this – millions of them up and down the land – that keep the country going.

Once you get out of the box of your own mindset of “I need to get to work, I’ve got x,y and z to do this morning,” watching other people go about their business is fascinating, I think.

I’m very much a “people person.” I find other people more interesting and fascinating that anything else. I’d much rather have an afternoon alone with a stranger than an afternoon alone with a new guitar – for example. Everyone has their story and, once you scratch the surface, often their stories are remarkable.

Leave a Reply

